Top 10 Tuesday: Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately

For anyone unfamiliar with Top 10 Tuesday, it’s a weekly meme that was created by Brokeandbookish. To see more posts on this very topic, please go here.

November 8: Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately
(inspired by my New to the Queue posts)

I am going to set this up a bit differently. I have picked books that I recently found and yeah, added to my neverending TBR list. This list is one of my favorite TBR lists, I believe.

1. Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

The new series centers on Alex Stern, a 20-year-old California high school dropout with a criminal past who is mysteriously offered a second chance as a Yale University freshman. Ninth House, the first book, follows Stern’s freshman year, where she is charged with monitoring Yale’s secret societies, who engage in sinister occult activities.

Yes, It is true. There will be two new books by Leigh Bardugo; the author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. I am so excited! I am a bit sad that I won’t be able to see Kaz and the crew again, I am excited though for us to meet Alex. Yale + secret societies + criminal activities = sign me up.

I am so curious with the cover for Ninth House. Leigh got blessed with beautiful covers. Even though it has not announced on when it will be released, it is on the top of my TBR either way. She is one of my auto-buy authors. 

Goodreads

2. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco 

stalking-jack-the-ripper

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege, stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

It is not every day that I see a book that is for YA that has forensic medicine in it. I do not think I have not seen one negative review on this book as of yet. I am very curious about this book. It grabbed my attention. If I have the power to buckle down and study science, I would go into forensic science, for sure. 

Goodreads

3. The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet // A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

Somewhere within our crowded sky, a crew of wormhole builders hops from planet to planet, on their way to the job of a lifetime. To the galaxy at large, humanity is a minor species, and one patched-up construction vessel is a mere speck on the star chart. This is an everyday sort of ship, just trying to get from here to there.

But all voyages leave their mark, and even the most ordinary of people have stories worth telling. A young Martian woman, hoping the vastness of space will put some distance between herself and the life she‘s left behind. An alien pilot, navigating life without her own kind. A pacifist captain, awaiting the return of a loved one at war.

Set against a backdrop of curious cultures and distant worlds, this episodic tale weaves together the adventures of nine eclectic characters, each on a journey of their own.

Sam at Thoughts on Tomes raved about this book and I am curious to see how it goes. I love Sci-Fi but I do not love corny Sci-Fi books. So it seems like it is a solid pick for me to add to my TBR. The covers here is so beautiful. Simple and powerful. 

Goodreads

4. Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

IronCast

It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths — whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art — captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.

The cover actually pulls me in first, rather than the Synopsis. I then read the synopsis and fell in love even more. Can’t wait to read this super soon! I lived in Boston for two years for my graduate studies and loved it there so excited to read a book that sets in Boston. 

Goodreads

5. A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess 

AShadowBrightandBurning

I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city — and the one she loves?

I heard a lot of great things on Goodreads about this book and thought to try it for myself. I have not heard of this book, though, on YouTube and Blogworld. I truly need to read it and bring awareness if it turns out to be an awesome book. Plus, look at the cover – it is so beautiful!

Goodreads

6. Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana

mirror-in-the-sky

An  evocative debut, perfect for fans of Tommy Wallach’s We All Looked Up, about the discovery of a mirror planet to Earth and how it dramatically changes the course of one Indian-American girl’s junior year.

For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices.
 
The world lights up with the knowledge of Terra Nova, the mirror planet, and Tara’s life on Earth begins to change. At first, small shifts happen, like attention from Nick Osterman, the most popular guy at Brierly, and her mother playing hooky from work to watch the news all day. But eventually, those small shifts swell, the discovery of Terra Nova like a black hole, bending all the light around it. 

As a new era of scientific history dawns and Tara’s life at Brierly continues its orbit, only one thing is clear: Nothing on Earth — or for Tara — will ever be the same again.

I bought this not that while ago for my Kindle. I wanted to have something on my kindle when I am going on a long ride like on an airplane so I don’t have to carry all of the physical books. I want a bag like Hermione’s in …And the Deathly Hallows so I can bring all of my books with me without an issue. Anyway, so I am thinking since I am going out of town to Florida to visit my family for Christmas in December, it will be a perfect timing for me to read this book, especially with long layovers. 

Goodreads

7. Gilded Cage by Vic James

GildedCage

NOT ALL ARE FREE.
NOT ALL ARE EQUAL.
NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED.
 
Our world belongs to the Equals—aristocrats with magical gifts—and all commoners must serve them for ten years.
 
But behind the gates of England’s grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.
 
A girl thirsts for love and knowledge.
 
Abi is a servant to England’s most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of their noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family’s secrets might win her liberty—but will her heart pay the price?
 
A boy dreams of revolution.
 
Abi’s brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution.
 
And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts.
 
He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy?

I got this book as an ARC from NetGalley and I am excited to start reading this soon. I am nervous when I will post a review because it is my first ARC and I am hoping that I will be in love with this book and encourage people to get this book and read them.

Goodreads

8. Mosquitoland by David Arnold

mosquitoland

“I am a collection of oddities, a circus of neurons and electrons: my heart is the ringmaster, my soul is the trapeze artist, and the world is my audience. It sounds strange because it is, and it is, because I am strange.”

After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the “wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland.

So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane.

Told in an unforgettable, kaleidoscopic voice, “Mosquitoland” is a modern American odyssey, as hilarious as it is heartbreaking.

When I first heard about this book, I wanted to buy this but I needed to save money for bills. Amazon then gave me some money back from their lawsuit so I used that money to get this book and I am super excited to read this. It is a diverse book and I have heard nothing but awesome, awesome and awesome things about this debut book. 

Goodreads

9. The Archived by Victoria Schwab

the-archived

Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was: a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper isn’t just dangerous—it’s a constant reminder of those Mac has lost, Da’s death was hard enough, but now that her little brother is gone too, Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself may crumble and fall.

In this haunting, richly imagined novel, Victoria Schwab reveals the thin lines between past and present, love and pain, trust and deceit, unbearable loss and hard-won redemption.

I have heard so many good things about Victoria’s books, especially The Archived and her Shades of Magic series. Amazon had the kindle edition on sale for $1.99 so I grabbed it for my Kindle and planning on reading this book on the way back from my Christmas trip.

I went back to school so I can earn my Master’s Degree in Library and Information Science so I can be an Archivist and I think it is fate.

Goodreads

10. Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

exit-pursued-by-a-bear

Veronica Mars meets William Shakespeare in E.K. Johnston’s latest brave and unforgettable heroine.

Hermione Winters is captain of her cheerleading team, and in tiny Palermo Heights, this doesn’t mean what you think it means. At PHHS, the cheerleaders don’t cheer for the sports teams; they are the sports team—the pride and joy of a tiny town. The team’s summer training camp is Hermione’s last and marks the beginning of the end of…she’s not sure what. She does know this season could make her a legend. But during a camp party, someone slips something in her drink. And it all goes black.

In every class, there’s a star cheerleader and a pariah pregnant girl. They’re never supposed to be the same person. Hermione struggles to regain the control she’s always had and faces a wrenching decision about how to move on. The assault wasn’t the beginning of Hermione Winter’s story and she’s not going to let it be the end. She won’t be anyone’s cautionary tale.

I bought this along with Mirror in the Sky with this being a book that I can read on a long trip. I have one planned for November. I am going to D.C. with my boyfriend for a friend’s wedding. It is about six hours drive (there will be traffic along the way, so it might be longer) so maybe I will read this book on the way back home. We will see how my mood strikes after a long weekend.

Goodreads
7 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately

  1. ashley says:

    I’ve had Mirror in the Sky on my TBR for a while, if it fits, I may add it to my DiverseAThon TBR! I’m also intrigued by Iron Cast because it’s set in Boston and being a Bostonian I’m interested to see how much research the author actually did.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

