Waiting on Wednesday | #1

WOW

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

I wanted to do something different for today’s post. I am excited to show you one book that I am excited for. It is not for another four months but it will be here sooner than later! 

You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner 

yourewelcomeuniverse

This book is set to be released on March 7, 2017, by Knopf. I truly love the cover. The typography and the colors. There will be illustrations inside that were provided by Whitney herself. I am curious on what the artworks looks like!

I can’t wait to see it in person. I am a deaf person and I get really excited to see a novel dedicated to deaf characters! I love books, that have the variety of people, with a variety of opinions, and with a variety of backgrounds. I do not really see books that have strong deaf characters and I have heard this book have what I am looking for, so cannot wait for March. 

Synopsis

A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s